Olivier Palatre Architect

CONCEPT

PROJECTS

PUBLICATIONS

MEIJI, SPLENDORS OR IMPÉRIAL JAPON (1868-1912)

MEIJI, SPLENDORS OR IMPÉRIAL JAPON (1868-1912)

light
lighting
furniture

Commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Meiji Restoration, the exhibition highlights the artistic jewels, splendid and refined witnesses of the many upheavals that imperial Japan underwent during the Meiji era (1868-1912), which was an unprecedented revolution for Japan as well as for the world.

The exhibition takes place in three galleries of the Musée National des Arts asiatiques – Guimet and will address different aspects of the modernization of Japan and the internationalization of artistic production through various artistic techniques, including goldsmithing, photography, textiles and ceramics.

The scenography is designed to emphasize the exhibition’s objective of illustrating the changes that took place in society as a whole, in art and in exchanges with the West through pieces from European public collections (MNAAG,
Victoria & Albert Museum, British Museum) or private collections.

The path traced by the agency guides the visitor to the discovery or rediscovery of these cultural and artistic treasures. Linear but sinuous, it reflects the cultural, political and social evolution of the Meiji era, the force that the opening to the world and modernization represented for the Japanese society of the time and that they exerted on the European imagination. The choice of colors accompanies the theme of each room, as many chromatic echoes sublimating the exhibited pieces, whose material, formal and/or stylistic variety imposes a singular attention to their lighting and their layout. The alternation of spaces, the play of partitions and transparency, the wandering around the objects allows visitors to physically confront these masterpieces. At the end of the tour, the scenography allowed visitors to observe “from all angles” the splendors of imperial Japan.

Contracting Owner : Musée national des arts asiatiques Guimet

Date : October 2018 – March 2019
Project management : Olivier Palatre Architectes
Program : Scenography
Surface : 600 m²
Budget : 120 000 €

OTHER PROJECTS

“Level 256” Platform

“Level 256” Platform

Monceau apartment

Monceau apartment

Nautical campus

Nautical campus

Educational filming studios

Educational filming studios

Quai Deschamps

Quai Deschamps

Nautical campus : Reinventing the Seine

Nautical campus : Reinventing the Seine

Euralille Cinema

Euralille Cinema

China in the mirror of Islam

China in the mirror of Islam

Olivier Palatre Architecte

PROJETS

PUBLICATIONS

MEIJI, SPLENDEUR DU JAPON IMPÉRIAL (1868-1912)

MEIJI, SPLENDEUR DU JAPON IMPÉRIAL (1868-1912)

lumière éclairage mobilier

Commémorant le 150e anniversaire de la Restauration de Meiji, l’exposition met en lumière met à l’honneur les joyaux artistiques, témoins splendides et raffinés des nombreux bouleversements que connût le Japon impérial sous l’ère Meiji (1868-1912), qui fut une révolution sans précédent pour le Japon comme pour le Monde.

L’exposition prend place dans trois galeries du Musée National des Arts asiatiques – Guimet et abordera différents aspects de la modernisation du Japon et de l’internationalisation de la production artistique à travers les différentes techniques artistiques entre autres de l’orfèvrerie aux photographies, en passant par les textiles et les céramiques.

Le travail de scénographie s’attache à souligner l’objectif de l’exposition d’illustrer les mutations opérées dans la société tout entière et dans l’art et dans les échanges avec l’Occident à travers des pièces issues des collections européennes publiques (MNAAG,
Victoria & Albert Museum, British Museum) ou privées.

Le parcours tracé par l’agence guide le visiteur à la découverte ou la redécouverte des ces trésors culturels et artistiques. Linéaire mais sinueux, il est à l’image de l’évolution culturelle, politique et sociale de l’ère Meiji, de la force que l’ouverture sur le monde et la modernisation ont représenté pour la société japonaise de l’époque et qu’elles ont exercée sur l’imaginaire européen. Les choix de couleurs accompagnent la thématique de chaque salle, autant d’échos chromatiques sublimant les pièces exposées, dont la variété matérielle, formelle et/ou stylistique impose une attention singulière à leur éclairage et leur disposition. L’alternance des espaces, le jeu de cloisonnements et de transparence, la déambulation autour des objets permet aux visiteurs de se confronter corporellement à ces chefs-d’œuvre. A l’issue du parcours, la scénographie a permis aux visiteurs d’observer “sous tous les angles” les splendeurs du Japon impérial.

Maîtrise d’ouvrage : Musée national des arts asiatiques Guimet

Date : Octobre 2018 – mars 2019 Maîtrise d’œuvre : Olivier Palatre Architectes Programme : Scénographie Surface : 600 m² Budget : 120 000 € HT

AUTRES PROJETS

Appartement colysée

Appartement colysée

Splendeur des han

Splendeur des han

Multiplex Cinéma Bethune

Multiplex Cinéma Bethune

Maison Pollyonnay

Maison Pollyonnay

15 logements

15 logements

Max Jacob

Max Jacob

Cinéma Euralille

Cinéma Euralille

Ensemble de 65 logements Paris 11

Ensemble de 65 logements Paris 11